Rocky Boy Tribe of Chippewa Indians of Montana

May 10, 1868 Arapaho-Cheyenne Treaty

This treaty was signed at Fort Laramie, Dakota Territory (now Wyoming) on May 10, 1868. The treaty was about ceding their land in Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wyoming. Some of the Arapaho and Cheyenne (they are really Anishinabe) did agree to sign this treaty but they did not have the authority to do such. The government of the Anishinabe Nation had to sign the treaty to make the treaty legitimate. Many of the Arapaho and Cheyenne of Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wyoming (white historians refer to them as the northern Arapaho and northern Cheyenne) refused to sign this May 10, 1868 treaty. A decade later the United States waged a war against these Anishinabe people who did not sign the May 10, 1868 treaty. It is known as the Cheyenne Exodus of 1878. Below is the treaty agreements reached with those Arapaho and Cheyenne who signed the May 10, 1868 treaty.

Date: May 10, 1868

Where or how concluded: Fort Laramie, Dakota territory

Reference: Statues at Large, Volume XV, page 655

Tribe: Cheyenne and Arapaho (Northern bands)

Description of cession or Reservation: Agree to accept a home either on southern Cheyenne and Arapahoe Reservation or on Big Sioux reservation.

Cede all claim to territory outside of foregoing reserves.

Historical data and remarks: They became established upon the Big Sioux reservation in Dakota with the Sioux.

This is an indefinite cession fully covered by that of other tribes.

Free Book

The Algonquian Conquest of the Mediterranean Region of 11,500 Years Ago


2009-2018 Anishinabe-History.Com